Skip to content

Horn announces nearly $1M to 32nd District schools through state police grants

Sen. Ken Horn

Sen. Ken Horn

LANSING, Mich. — Sen. Ken Horn announced on Thursday that nearly $1 million in grant funding was recently made available to schools across the 32nd District through the Michigan State Police School Safety Grant program for improving safety measures.

“Earlier this year as part of a Senate school safety plan, the Legislature approved a total of $58 million in the state budget for school safety initiatives including mental health programs and these safety improvement grants,” said Horn, R-Frankenmuth. “This grant money will go a long way in helping schools make meaningful upgrades to technology or building safety that would provide a safe environment for students to learn.”

The 2019 budget included a total investment of $25 million in funding for school safety grants. The Michigan State Police (MSP) on Wednesday announced that the money has been distributed to school districts across Michigan based on their individual needs. Schools will be able to use the money they are awarded to purchase equipment or technology that would improve the safety of students and staff.

The following schools and school districts in Saginaw and Genesee counties will receive a total of $926,668:

  • Bridgeport Spaulding Community School District;
  • Chesaning Union Schools;
  • Frankenmuth School District;
  • Freeland Community School District;
  • Immanuel Lutheran School;
  • Linden Community School District;
  • Saginaw Intermediate School District;
  • Saginaw School District;
  • Saginaw Township Community Schools; and
  • Valley Lutheran High School.

“In today’s world, school safety has never been more important and I am happy to see schools throughout my district get money for the improvements they need,” Horn said. “These grants will provide schools with the resources that will improve safety and security and ultimately allow students to focus on learning, and teachers to focus on teaching.”

For a complete list of the grants, and each funding allotment, please click here.