Skip to content

Horn honored as Disability Network’s Independent Living Champion

LANSING, Mich. — Disability Network of Michigan honored state Sen. Ken Horn as the 2022 Legislative Independent Living Champion.

Horn was recognized by the organization for his continued support and promotion of efforts to help ensure individuals have the resources and services needed to have autonomy over their lives, and to participate fully in everyday activities at work, at home, and in their communities.

“It has been a privilege to partner with Disability Network,” said Horn, R-Frankenmuth. “I’m honored to be recognized and hope to continue to work together to expand opportunities for more Michiganders to lead full and independent lives.”

Kelly PeLong, executive director of Disability Network of Mid-Michigan commended Horn for his longstanding commitment to ensuring individuals with disabilities have the resources they need.

“Sen. Horn believes people with disabilities should have opportunities for independence, education and employment, and agrees that our communities are better when everyone is included,” PeLong said. “It has been my privilege to work with the senator over the last three and a half years and I’m honored to recognize him as an ‘Independent Living Champion’ on behalf of Disability Network Mid-Michigan and the entire network of Centers for Independent Living across the state of Michigan.”


Editor’s note: A print-quality version of either photograph is available by clicking on the image or by visiting the senator’s website at Click on “Photos” under the “In the News” tab.

Photo caption one: State Sen. Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth, was presented the 2022 Independent Living Champion award by Disability Network of Mid-Michigan Executive Director Kelly PeLong.

Photo caption two: State Sen. Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth, stands with Disability Network of Wayne County Executive Director and Disability Network of Michigan’s Board Chair Lori Hill-Sanders and Disability Network of Mid-Michigan Executive Director Kelly PeLong after formally receiving the award.