Skip to content

Horn to chair the Senate Committee on Committees

LANSING, Mich. — Senate Majority Leader-elect Mike Shirkey, R-Clarklake, on Tuesday announced that Sen. Ken Horn will lead the Senate Committee on Committees.

The temporary committee is responsible for selecting committee assignments for all Senate members for the upcoming 100th Legislature.

“It is a great honor to take on the job of assigning both new and returning members to their committee assignments for the next term,” said Horn, R-Frankenmuth. “Our Senate committees will be very policy and experience-driven. I plan to speak with members and learn as much as I can about their backgrounds and districts and delegate committee responsibilities accordingly. We want the right people in the right places.”

The Committee on Committees members include:
• Sen. Ken Horn, R-Frankenmuth, Chair;
• Sen. Wayne Schmidt, R-Traverse City;
• Sen.-elect Kim LaSata, R-Bainbridge Township;
• Sen.-elect Dan Lauwers, R-Brockway Township; and
• Sen.-elect Aric Nesbitt, R-Lawton.

“Chairman Horn and the committee members have a large task in front of them, but I am certain they will handle it with ease and produce an excellent roster for the new term,” Shirkey said.